whackanarwhal

news you should know about

THE NARWHAL WHACKS AGAIN

leave a comment »

So…I’ve been a little out of the loop lately. First I was in Morocco and then I was in Holland and then I was back in Morocco, and then Spain and then France, and then the Czech Republic, and then back to France, and then Holland again. And then the plan was for there to be a long string of uninterrupted Holland (and hopefully laundry. Please, laundry.), but then there was this visa…issue (to use a polite term) that could have resulted in a lifetime ban from most of Europe, so the long string of Amsterdam has been postponed until the fall and I’m home on leave of absence this semester. (As hilarious as a ban from a landmass would be…no. Thank you.)

In short, I’ve been a bit preoccupied, and really have no idea what’s going on in the world right now. I mean, we’re all still here, which is a good sign, but I’m kind of lost beyond that.

Donna: Who are they?
The Doctor: They were behind the battle of Canary Wharf. …Cyberman invasion? …Skies over London full of Daleks?
Donna: Oh, I was in Spain.
The Doctor: They [were] in Spain.
Donna: Scuba diving.

I have only a very vague idea of who the current Republican candidates are (in my defense, I’m not sure that most of the Republican candidates themselves know who the candidates are). I know there were European credit downgrades, but I don’t know what the media reaction was (a Czech banker told me that there was virtually no effect on the Italian markets, but that’s all I got). I saw Qaddafi’s death reported on Al Jazeera, but have little idea of what’s happening in Libya now. Also, a guy in Morocco told me that Obama is Jewish, but I’m pretty sure that one’s not true (FROM M. NIGHT SHYAMALAN).

Also, Prop 8 just happened (or rather, it was ruled that Prop 8 shouldn’t be happening any more). I’ve linked to some articles on Facebook – take a look. I’m hoping to have a better idea of what’s happening and what’s yet to come by tomorrow (although, as always, I make no promises). With luck, the narwhalwhacking you know and love will commence early this week.

Written by whackanarwhal

February 7, 2012 at 9:23 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

